Whole30 Challenge

I am transitioning from a low carb diet into a primal diet. I am feeling like a challenge, so I am going to do a Whole30 challenge. I already had the book on which the challenge is based, It Starts With Food, by Dallas and Melissa Hartwig.

20130506-163252.jpg
This is the Whole30 in a nutshell…

Yes: meat, seafood, eggs, tons of vegetables, some fruit, and plenty of good fats from fruits, oils, nuts and seeds.

No: sugars, alcohol, grains, legumes, dairy, MSG, sulfites, and white potatoes.

Not too bad. I was pretty much doing that anyway. I am not going to lie, the first few days were rough, but then I felt so good I didn’t really mind it as much!

There is a great Whole30 Quick Start Guide , an explanation of the Whole30 Program, Meal Planning Template, Pantry Stocking List, and a Shopping List you can download. And I just found another overview of the program from Whole9, that I think I like even better than the other one.

The 6 quick start steps are:

1. Clean out your pantry
2. Plan a week’s worth of menus
3. Go shopping
4. Plan your go-to meals
5. Set yourself up for success
6. Ditch your scale

I am going to eat pretty much the same thing every day.

Breakfast
Eggs
Bacon, sausage or ham
Fruit

Lunch
Meat or fish
Big salad

Supper
Meat or fish
Vegetables

I think it is doable! Day one of thirty starts today…anyone else with me?

Kary

4 thoughts on “Whole30 Challenge

  1. Pingback: My new blog…Whole30 Challenge and Weigh-In | one dollar cottage

  2. Kary –Congrats on the weight loss and more importantly just plain “feeling better”. I like the sound of the results from this eating plan, but the thought of giving up dairy is scary to me; I like milk in my coffee, cheese and yogurt (and of course ice cream!). Where do you get your calcium on this plan — just from the vegetables? I do applaud your efforts and I appreciate your sharing all the good information.
    Have a great day!

    • Thank you! You have a good point about the calcium…so of course I googled it! I found this link, http://whole9life.com/2012/02/what-about-calcium/, on the Whole9 website. The dairy thing freaked me out a little, too, but I started out on the SCD plan that lets you have aged cheese. I did try coconut milk in my coffee, and I love it, though of course not as much as Almond Joy creamer! Transitioning made it easier for me, give up grains first, then the dairy.

  3. Pingback: My Weight Loss Plan | one dollar cottage

Leave a Reply

